View our current Customer Support status
  View site in English, Español, or Français
The fair-trade ticketing company.
Sign Me Up!  |  Log In
Find An Event Create Your Event Help
The Most Serene Republic & Grand Archives
High Noon Saloon
Madison, WI
Share this event:
Get Tickets
There are no active dates for this event.
Check venue for tickets...


The Most Serene Republic & Grand Archives
The Most Serene Republic
        Grand Archives
     with special guests
       Timber Timbre

The Most Serene Republic is a Canadian indie rock band based in Milton, Ontario. It takes its name from the sobriquet of formerly independent Venice under the Doges, which was regarded as "The Most Serene Republic of Venice".
The roots of the band were planted in 2003 when Ryan Lenssen and Adrian Jewett formed Thee Oneironauts (O-nye-rawn-nauts). The pair recorded and self-released an EP entitled Night of the Lawnchairs on the GROK Studios imprint, which had also released Lenssen's concept band "Rushing To Redlights". The Oneironauts grew to trio status with the addition of Nick Greaves on guitar before ultimately becoming The Most Serene Republic.
Their debut album Underwater Cinematographer was produced, mixed and engineered by Lenssen and mastered by Ryan Mills and recorded at ASF Studios. Its original release was in late 2004 on the independent label Sunday League Records before being picked up by Arts & Crafts. It was re-released on June 28, 2005 featuring new artwork. They were the first band signed by Arts & Crafts that was not related to Broken Social Scene in any way or form. After touring the album extensively with the likes of Metric, Stars and Broken Social Scene, the band recorded what ultimately became the Phages EP, that was first made available when the band supported The Strokes on their Canadian tour of 2006.
In 2006 long time drummer Adam Nimmo left the band, replaced by Tony Nesbitt-Larking. Tony appeared on Population and toured with the band throughout 2008. TMSR spent much of 2007 prepping their sophomore album Population, which was released by Arts & Crafts on October 2, 2007 to generally positive reviews.
In 2007 Jewett and Lenssen appeared on MTV Canada to promote the release of Population. This would be the band's first television appearance. The two were interviewed during the airing of Making The Band wearing Star Trek outfits. During the interview they said they were on their way to a Star Trek Convention following the interview. In 2008 the full band appeared on MTV Live for an interview and three-song performance.
In an interview from June 17, 2008, guitarist Nick Greaves stated that the band will be recording their third album with Broken Social Scene and Super Furry Animals producer David Newfeld, and hinted there might be a slight change of musical direction.
2008 saw the release of Live At XMU, a 4 song acoustic EP made up of songs from Population]] and Phages. It was recorded December 11th, 2007 at the XMU studios in Washington, D.C.and released August 12, 2008 exclusively to iTunes.
On April 20, 2009, the band announced their newest album, ...And The Ever Expanding Universe, would be released on July 14, and offered the album's second track, "Heavens to Purgatory", as a free download. In addition, they announced that an EP of 16-bit remixes entitled Digital Population would be released on April 28.

Grand Archives is an American indie rock band, formed in Seattle. The band, originally called Archives, is composed of several noted musicians from that city, led by Mat Brooke, former guitarist and vocalist for Carissa's Wierd and former guitarist for Band of Horses.
The band emerged, under their previous moniker, to little fanfare in March 2007 with two tracks posted to their MySpace page. Following an initial show with Brooke's fellow former Carissa's Wierd bandmate Sera Cahoone however, the band had their track "Sleepdriving" added to Pitchfork Media's Forkcast playlist, which provided the band with substantial Internet exposure. Following their switch to the current name, Pitchfork published a more in-depth feature on the band,[4] discussing all four demo'd tracks from their MySpace page.
Soon after, the band were hand-picked to support Modest Mouse on seven west-coast tour dates, and it was also announced that Sub Pop had signed the band for a full-length album.
In February 2009,their song "Torn Blue Foam Couch" appeared on an Episode of Scrubs

The band began as a four piece, but is presently five: Mat Brooke, Jeff Montano, Curtis Hall, Ron Lewis, and Thomas Wright. Montano formerly played in The New Mexicans, Lewis in Mines, Joggers and Ghost Stories, Hall (aka DJ Curtis) in The Jeunes, and Brooke in Carissa's Wierd and Band of Horses.

Ron Lewis left the band in the Spring of 2009 to join The Shins.


High Noon Saloon
701 E. Washington Ave
Madison, WI 53703
United States



Minimum Age: 18
Kid Friendly: No
Dog Friendly: No
Non-Smoking: No
Wheelchair Accessible: No


Owner: True Endeavors LLC
On BPT Since: Sep 03, 2007

Contact us
1-800-838-3006 (Temporarily Unavailable)
Ticket Buyers
Track Your Order
Browse Events
Event Producers
Create an Event
Buy Pre-Printed Tickets
The Venue List
Find out about local events
Get daily or weekly email notifications of new and discounted events in your neighborhood.
Sign up for local events
Connect with us
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Instagram
Watch us on YouTube
Read our blog
Get to know us
Use of this service is subject to the Terms of Usage, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy of Brown Paper Tickets. All rights reserved. © 2000-2022 Mobile EN ES FR