View site in English, Español, or Français
The fair-trade ticketing company.
Sign Me Up!  |  Log In
 
Find An Event Create Your Event Help
 
Author Event with Delia Owens
Half Price Books Flagship
Dallas, TX
Share this event:
Get Tickets
There are no active dates for this event.


Event

Author Event with Delia Owens
ABOUT THE EVENT
Tickets are required to enter the seating area and signing line.  
Numbered passes to enter the line and seating will be available at Half Price Books Flagship at 5 p.m., two hours prior to the event start time. You must present your Brown Paper Ticket  printed or on your mobile device  to pick up your numbered pass and book.
Seating is first-come first-served.
Attendees who purchase the book/ticket combo from Half Price Books will be allowed to enter the signing line first.
Please note that we are expecting a large crowd, so there may be a long wait to get through the signing line.

ABOUT DELIA
Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa, including Cry of the Kalahari and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Medal for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, the African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She currently lives in Idaho and Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

ABOUT WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING
Delia Owens' lyrical and gripping #1 New York Times-bestselling debut novel, WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING, is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising account of a murder investigation. Fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell will admire this stunning novel as Owens masterfully reveals the intricate beauties of nature through the eyes of a young girl abandoned by her family in the North Carolina marshland. WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING explores the stubborn wildness that resides in all of us and also examines the deeply human instincts that bind us to other people. Reese Witherspoon and Hello Sunshine selected WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING as their Book Club pick of September 2018 and will produce the film adaptation for FOX 2000.

For years, rumors of the Marsh Girl have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. Shes barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals
immediately suspect Kya Clark. But she is not what they say. Years earlier, when six-year-old Kya watched her Ma walk down the dirt footpath, away from the familys rough-hewn wooden shack tucked back in the marsh, she didnt know it would be for the last time. And, then one by one, her siblings and Pa walked away, too, leaving her alone with the marsh as her only provider and companion.  

Relying on her sharp instincts and lessons from the natural world, Kya builds a life of solitude away from the scornful, prying eyes of the townspeople. A born naturalist, she becomes an expert in the ways of the marsh that teems with life and reveals its secrets to the careful, watchful girl. Lessons and secrets that she will need for her very survival.

Solitude is not easy. Yearning to be touched and loved, Kya is drawn to two young men from town, both intrigued by her wild beauty. Each man offers different paths and promises of worlds beyond the marshbut lies can be told, promises broken, and a tumble from an old fire tower can look a lot like murder.

Thought-provoking and deeply moving, WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Location

Half Price Books Flagship (View)
5803 E. Northwest Hwy
Dallas, TX 75231
United States


Categories

Arts > Literary

Kid Friendly: Yes!
Dog Friendly: No
Non-Smoking: Yes!

Contact


Contact us
Email
support@brownpapertickets.com
24/7 Customer Service
1-800-838-3006 US, Canada, Puerto Rico
Resources
Careers
Developers
Help
Ticket Buyers
Track Your Order
Browse Events
Locations
Event Producers
Create an Event
Pricing
Services
Buy Pre-Printed Tickets
The Venue List
Find out about local events
Get daily or weekly email notifications of new and discounted events in your neighborhood.
Sign up for local events
Connect with us
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Instagram
Watch us on YouTube
Read our blog
Get to know us
Use of this service is subject to the Terms of Usage, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy of Brown Paper Tickets. All rights reserved. © 2000-2019 Mobile EN ES FR