View site in English, Español, or Français
The fair-trade ticketing company.
Sign Me Up!  |  Log In
 
Find An Event Create Your Event Help
 
Lunch with NY Times Bestselling Author Lisa Wingate at High Cotton
High Cotton
Charleston, SC
Share this event:
Get Tickets
There are no active dates for this event.
Powered by  
 
We're sorry but this event has sold out. However, you may email Susan Lucas at Susan@KingStreetMarketingGroup.com or call (843) 303-1113 to see if additional seatings become available before the start of the event due to last minute cancellations.


Event

Lunch with NY Times Bestselling Author Lisa Wingate at High Cotton
Join us Thursday, June 8th at High Cotton for the next Blue Bicycle Books Charleston Author Series. Author Lisa Wingate presents her engrossing new novel based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country.

Enjoy a lovely three-course luncheon at one of Charleston's finest restaurants, High Cotton, and meet the bestselling author of the Carolina Heirlooms Novels and Novellas, and so many more.

ABOUT THE BOOK
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shanty boat. When their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge until strangers arrive in force.

Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Childrens Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents, but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation . . . or redemption.

The story is based on one of Americas most notorious real-life scandals, in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country. Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Lisa Wingate is journalist, inspirational speaker, and bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Her work has won or been nominated for many awards, including the Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize, the Oklahoma Book Award, the Utah Library Award, The Carol Award, the Christy Award, and the RT Booklovers Reviewers Choice Award. Americans for More Civility, a kindness watchdog organization, selected Lisa to be a recipient of the National Civics Award, which celebrates public figures who work to promote greater kindness and civility in American life. Booklist summed up her work by saying, "Lisa Wingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller."

Books are provided by Blue Bicycle, an independent bookstore and staple in the downtown Charleston community selling new, used and rare books in the fashionable Upper King Street District.

High Cotton is located at 199 East Bay Street, where the luncheon and discussion will take place. Parking is available at the Cumberland Street Garage, other municipal lots or at meters on the street. Doors open at 11:30 AM and lunch is served promptly at noon. Limited seating provides an intimate experience with the author and there is a cash bar for your enjoyment.

Location

High Cotton (View)
199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
United States

Map is loading...

Categories

Arts > Literary

Kid Friendly: Yes!
Dog Friendly: No
Non-Smoking: Yes!
Wheelchair Accessible: Yes!

Contact


Contact us
Email
support@brownpapertickets.com
24/7 Customer Service
1-800-838-3006 US, Canada, Puerto Rico
Resources
Careers
Press
Developers
Help
Ticket Buyers
Track Your Order
Browse Events
Locations
Event Producers
Create an Event
Pricing
Services
Buy Pre-Printed Tickets
The Venue List
Join the mailing list
Get spam-free daily notifications of new events in your neighborhood!
Customize your mailing list
Connect with us
Friend us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on YouTube
Read our blog
Get to know us
Meet the Doers
Use of this service is subject to the Terms & Conditions of Brown Paper Tickets. All rights reserved. © 2000-2017 Mobile EN ES FR