X
Great news! Brown Paper Tickets is being acquired by Events.com. Click here to learn more.
  View site in English, Español, or Français
The fair-trade ticketing company.
Sign Me Up!  |  Log In
 
Find An Event Create Your Event Help
 
Boldly Bookish Tour: Jennifer Lynn Barnes Tiffany Schmidt, and Tara Altebrando
Kepler's Books
Menlo Park, CA
Share this event:
Registration Options
There are no active dates for this event.





Event

Boldly Bookish Tour: Jennifer Lynn Barnes Tiffany Schmidt, and Tara Altebrando
Sponsored by Peninsula Arts & Letters and Kepler's

Thursday, June 9, 2016
7:00pm

Kepler's Books
1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park, CA 94025


Three great authors. Three fantastic new books. Summer is starting to look a lot better.

Jennifer Lynn Barnes, THE LONG GAME
For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmates campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets. Meanwhile, Tesss guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in Washington, but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.  "Imagine Shonda Rimes's Scandal plunked into the middle of an elite private high school in Washington, DC . . . Barnes packs all of that and more in this YA thriller." School Library Journal

Tiffany Schmidt, BREAK ME LIKE A PROMISE
All Magnolia Vickers ever wanted was to follow in her father's path and head up the Family business. And, once upon a time, she and Carter Landlow were going to do it together. But new legislation is about to destroy the Family's operations in the black-market organ trade, and Carter, her love, is dead. Then Maggie runs into Alex, who needs something her family is uniquely able to deliver, and he's willing to manipulate her to get it. Maggie hates being blackmailed into fulfilling his bargain, but the longer it takes to help him Maggie is surprised to find herself falling for him. Like it or not, if she wants to save Alexs life and carve out a place in the new legalized organ business, shes going to have to fight for both. Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kimberly Derting, this second book in the Once Upon a Crime Family series will hold readers spellbound.


Tara Altebrando, THE LEAVING
Eleven years ago, six kindergartners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to. Until today. Today five of those kids return. Theyre sixteen, and they are . . . fine. Scarlett comes home and finds a mom she barely recognizes, and doesn't really recognize the person she's supposed to be, either. But she thinks she remembers Lucas. Lucas remembers Scarlett, except theyre  unable to recall where theyve been or what happened to them. Neither of them remember the sixth victim, Max--the only one who hasnt come back. Which leaves Max's sister, Avery, wanting to find her brother--dead or alive--and isnt buying this whole memory-loss story. But as details of the disappearance begin to unfold, no one is prepared for the truth.

Can't wait!

Location

Kepler's Books (View)
1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park, CA 94025
United States

Categories

Arts > Literary

Kid Friendly: Yes!
Dog Friendly: Yes!
Non-Smoking: Yes!
Wheelchair Accessible: Yes!

Contact


Contact us
Email
support@brownpapertickets.com
Phone
1-800-838-3006 (Temporarily Unavailable)
Resources
Developers
Help
Ticket Buyers
Track Your Order
Browse Events
Locations
Event Producers
Create an Event
Pricing
Services
Buy Pre-Printed Tickets
The Venue List
Find out about local events
Get daily or weekly email notifications of new and discounted events in your neighborhood.
Sign up for local events
Connect with us
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Instagram
Watch us on YouTube
Get to know us
Use of this service is subject to the Terms of Usage, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy of Brown Paper Tickets. All rights reserved. © 2000-2022 Mobile EN ES FR