View site in English, Español, or Français
The fair-trade ticketing company.
Sign Me Up!  |  Log In
 
Find An Event Create Your Event Help
 
AT THE MOVIES
The Museum of Performance and Design
San Francisco , CA
Share this event:
Get Tickets
There are no active dates for this event.
Advanced sale tickets have ended for this event. A limited number of seats will be available at the door at $30 (cash please), starting at 6:30pm on October 24.


Event

AT THE MOVIES
Wesla Whitfield, "one of the finest masters of popular singing" (L.A. Times), leads a glittering cast of local, national and international cabaret stars in a one-night-only benefit concert, AT THE MOVIES: A Cabaret Evening, on Monday, October 24, 7pm, at the Museum of Performance and Design. The concert of both famous and rarely heard movie songs marks the official opening of THESE ARE A FEW OF MY FAVORITE THINGS: Movie Music Selections from the Bob Johnson Sheet Music Collection. Also highlighting the show will be the legendary Frank Jackson, a recipient of the Fillmore Jazz Pioneer Award who was honored in the Museum's HARLEM OF THE WEST exhibit in 2006.

The exhibition of 60 of the 60,000 pieces of sheet music donated to the Museum by Mr. Johnson is dedicated to the memory of Hollywood icon, Betty Grable. Music directed by popular Bay Area pianist Jason Martineau and hosted by entertainer Lua Hadar, the concert proceeds will benefit the Museum's drive to save its irreplaceable collection of San Francisco cultural history in the wake of a critical funding shortage.

Performers confirmed at press time include: Leanne Borghesi, Bill Cooper, Mike Greensill, Lua Hadar, Frank Jackson, Veronica Klaus, Linda Kosut, Barry Lloyd, Russ Lorenson, Carly Ozard and Wesla Whitfield. Dave Austin joins the company as guest pianist. Alan Choy is at the piano from 6:30-7:00pm to set the mood with a medley of movie songs.

Museum of Performance & Design, Veteran's Building, 401 Van Ness, Suite 402, San Francisco. Online tickets at $28, Brown Paper Tickets. Limited tickets at the door at $30 cash beginning at 6:30pm. All ages.

LINKS:
Museum of Performance and Design: http://www.mpdsf.org

Directions and Parking: http://www.mpdsf.org/PAGES/MAIN/directions.html

Exhibition link: http://www.mpdsf.org/PAGES/EXHIBITION/ongoing.html

Music Director: http://www.jasonmartineau.com

PERFORMERS: (alphabetical order)
Leanne Borghesi: http://tinyurl.com/3u9tmge
Bill Cooper: http://www.billcoopersings.com
Mike Greensill:  http://www.mikegreensill.com
Lua Hadar: http://www.luahadar.com
Frank Jackson: http://www.frankjacksonjazz.com
Veronica Klaus: http://www.veronicaklaus.com
Linda Kosut: http://www.lindakosut.com
Barry Lloyd: http://www.myspace.com/barrylloydsf
Russ Lorenson: http://www.russlorenson.com
Carly Ozard: http://www.carlyozard.com
Wesla Whitfield: http://www.weslawhitfield.com

Location

The Museum of Performance and Design (View)
Veteran's Building, 401 Van Ness, Suite 402
San Francisco , CA 94102
United States


Categories

Arts > Performance
Music > All Ages
Music > Jazz

Kid Friendly: Yes!
Dog Friendly: No
Non-Smoking: Yes!
Wheelchair Accessible: Yes!

Contact


Contact us
Email
support@brownpapertickets.com
24/7 Customer Service
1-800-838-3006 US, Canada, Puerto Rico
Resources
Developer Center
Media Center
Ticket Buyers
Track Your Order
Browse Events
Locations
Event Producers
Create an Event
Pricing
Services
Buy Pre-Printed Tickets
The Venue List
Join the mailing list
Get spam-free daily notifications of new events in your neighborhood!
Customize your mailing list
Connect with us
Use of Brown Paper Tickets is subject to our Terms & Conditions. All rights reserved. © 2011-2012 Mobile EN ES FR