Explore Rainsford Island, Boston Harbor
275 years ago Edward Rainsford farmed on a island in the middle of Boston Harbor - come with the Friends of the Boston Harbor Island on May 4th, 2013 and explore!
Liz Carella - Curator of Photography will provide a tour. Depar Rowes Wharf 10:00 am and return 2:00 pm.
Rainsford Island is a 50-foot drumlin, natural coves facing south and southwest, separated by rock outcropping Pebbles and rock beach, shell deposits. In about 1636, Edward Rainsford was granted the island for farm use. In 1737, a quarantine hospital was moved to Rainsford Island from Spectacle Island and operated there until 1852. During this time, Rainsford Island was a popular summer resort.
In 1832 a small-pox hospital was built (a stone Greek-temple design), and many victims of infectious diseases were buried on the island in. In about 1852, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts took possession of the island and established an almshouse. The state abandoned the site in about 1866, and the City converted the island into a poorhouse. Civil War Veterans lived there until 1882, when they were transferred to a Soldiers Home on the mainland. Beginning in 1882, female paupers were sent to Rainsford. Later it was a facility for boys: the Suffolk School for Boys. In 1920, the school was closed. Now only foundation holes remain visible. (from the City of Boston)
Departs Rowes Wharf Water Transport, 60 Rowes Wharf Boston, MA 02110.
No refunds, trip canceled only by the captain, will run rain or shine. Bring your own refreshments and drinks, as well as shoes that may get wet. A moderate activity level and stability is necessary for this trip as the boat will have a beach landing, and the island has rocky/uneven paths and walking areas. To learn more about Rainsford Island visit: http://fbhi.org/rainsford-island.html
Rainsford Island via Rowes Wharf Water Transport, Boston (View)
60 Rowes Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
|Kid Friendly: Yes!|
|Dog Friendly: No|
|Wheelchair Accessible: No|