View site in English, Español, or Français
The fair-trade ticketing company.
Sign Me Up!  |  Log In
 
Find An Event Create Your Event Help
 
Jim St. Germain presents A Stone of Hope
Congregation Beth Elohim
Brooklyn, NY
Share this event:
Get Tickets
Date
Jul 13, 2017 7:30 PM



Admission Level Price Quantity
Free RSVP Free
Book + RSVP $27.99 ($29.96 w/service fee)
A pre-purchased copy of A STONE OF HOPE with free RSVP  
 
Delivery
(United States - Change Country)
 


Event

Jim St. Germain presents A Stone of Hope
In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost causeuntil he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyns Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to beor capable of beingat sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.

***

Co-sponsored by
Congregation Beth Eloheim
Brad Lander, City Council Member
Michael Farber, Breakout
Khaair Morrison, V.O.Y.C.E
Diana Richardson, Assemblywoman
Community Bookstore

***

Pre-sold books will be available for pickup at the program. Books will be for sale from Community Bookstore the night of the event.

Location

Congregation Beth Elohim (View)
274 Garfield Pl.
Brooklyn, NY 11215
United States


Categories

Arts > Literary
Other > Political

Kid Friendly: Yes!
Dog Friendly: No
Non-Smoking: Yes!
Wheelchair Accessible: Yes!

Contact

Remind Me

Outlook/iCal/Sunbird

Google Calendar

Email me days before.

Contact us
Email
support@brownpapertickets.com
24/7 Customer Service
1-800-838-3006 US, Canada, Puerto Rico
Resources
Careers
Press
Developers
Help
Ticket Buyers
Track Your Order
Browse Events
Locations
Event Producers
Create an Event
Pricing
Services
Buy Pre-Printed Tickets
The Venue List
Join the mailing list
Get spam-free daily notifications of new events in your neighborhood!
Customize your mailing list
Connect with us
Friend us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on YouTube
Read our blog
Get to know us
Meet the Doers
Use of this service is subject to the Terms & Conditions of Brown Paper Tickets. All rights reserved. © 2000-2017 Mobile EN ES FR